SolsticeForum.com is the premier Pontiac Solstice forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 03-08-2005, 02:58 PM
   The eBay madness has begun.
Administrator

brentil's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Luc had made a mention of the adds at the bottom of the page. If you click it, it brings you to eBay. Look what I found on eBay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...spagename=WDVW

The selling of top 1000 spots has begun. You've got 4 days left to lock in your one of 1000 first Solsti.
Quote:
  • This is a Pre-Order sale For 1 of First 1000 Solstice Made.
  • When You Order You will recive From Pontiac Certificate of Authenticity.
  • Also the car will have a Unique IP Trim Badge.
  • A Special VIN Sequence From 1 to 1000 and Other Solstice Premiums
  • This is a Pre-Order For A New Limited Pontiac Solstice.

It will be sold for M.S.R.P. The Solstice will be in the Low to Mid 20,000.00 Price Range. The Selling Price on the Auction will not be the actual price do to the Equipment and Vehicle options you select. it is a range of the M.S.R.P To give you an idea of what to expect in regards to price.
__________________

Last edited by brentil : 03-08-2005 at 03:06 PM.
brentil is offline
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old 03-08-2005, 03:06 PM
  
Founding Member

PAS22's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin On "The Bay"
Oh joy, here we go
PAS22 is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 03:16 PM
  
Founding Member

goalscore247's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Send a message via AIM to goalscore247
too bad that ebay ad says its an automatic, thought they werent out for monthes
goalscore247 is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 03:20 PM
  
Administrator

brentil's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by goalscore247
too bad that ebay ad says its an automatic, thought they werent out for monthes
It's just a typo more then likely. Automatic supposedly wont be out till next year.
__________________
brentil is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 03:27 PM
  
Founding Member

goalscore247's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Send a message via AIM to goalscore247
All i gotta say is GM better jump all over this because i remember that the point of the early purchase and stuff was that the dealers couldnt charge over the MSRP
goalscore247 is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 03:29 PM
  
Senior Member

RODEO's Avatar

Join Date: May 2004
Location: "Lost In America"
I was thinking the same, maybe it's not a base model, but how would you know???
__________________
All of the animals except for man know that the principle business of life is to enjoy it.-- Samuel Butler

You can find me at the lake -- RODEOSOLSTICE @ YAHOO.COM
RODEO is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 03:48 PM
  
Administrator

brentil's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
The action says the car will be sold at MSRP, which does not violate GM's restrictions on these first 1000 cars in any way.
Quote:
It will be sold for M.S.R.P. The Solstice will be in the Low to Mid 20,000.00 Price Range. The Selling Price on the Auction will not be the actual price do to the Equipment and Vehicle options you select. it is a range of the M.S.R.P To give you an idea of what to expect in regards to price.
__________________
brentil is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 04:28 PM
  
Moderator

achieftain's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: turning right to go left
I can't believe that dealer has the nerve to screw over their whole home area of Atlanta by being willing to sell their 1-5 of early orders to anybody anywhere. You could have been camping on their doorstep for the last year and a half begging for Solstice info and they keep saying 'What's a Solstice?' Glad I'm far enough away from there and probably another year from purchase anyway.
__________________
When more than one friend wants to ride shotgun

No, I do not work for GM or any subsidiary or supplier.
achieftain is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 04:58 PM
  
Super Moderator

mceb's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The hills of NJ
Too funny. He's got several picture of the concept from 2002. If it's MSRP why is the opening bid $22,500?
__________________
2006 VIN #30, first 1000 series, black exterior, sand/steel interior
Index of useful threads: General, Tech


mceb is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 07:39 PM
  
Super Moderator

Fformula88's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: So long, and thanks for all the fish!
It would be too funy if that dealer didn't get any of the first 1000 Solsti! Since there will be 1000 Solstices, and there are 2800 (est) dealers, more than a couple will not be getting one of the first ones!
__________________
We Build Excitement

Fformula88 is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 07:46 PM
  
Luc
Founding Member

Luc's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Guys, I think this ad is legitimate.

The funniest part of this ad is you just know that some idiot somewhere is actually going to place a bid for this car.
Luc is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 08:06 PM
  
Administrator

brentil's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
If you read the auction it says the price for the auction is an estimated price for a optioned out model. If you win the bid you pay $500 down, and then pay MSRP + option prices. It looks like the dealer is just using eBay to make sales. At first I thoguht they were trying to start a bidding war for the right to get in line, but after reading it seems they're just trying to sell it.
__________________

Last edited by brentil : 03-08-2005 at 08:33 PM. Reason: i are teh good spellar
brentil is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 08:18 PM
  
Founding Member

Brian's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago
At first I was a little miffed at this guy, but now that I have read all of the facts I cannot fault him for trying to make a sale and using all tools available to him.
Brian is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 08:54 PM
  
Founding Member

LatinVenom's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian
At first I was a little miffed at this guy, but now that I have read all of the facts I cannot fault him for trying to make a sale and using all tools available to him.
However look at it in a different way, here you have an Atlanta dealer, in a very large metropolitan area and this dealer has to go to E-Bay to get 5 pre-order?.
The way I see it, the only people interested in this car so far are the people in this forum, so maybe the only thing that will save GM is the fact that ONLY 20,000 units will be produce. I will also keep my eye on the e-bay auction to see what sort of reaction you get from that large audience, that auction will tell us and GM what to expect and what marketing they may have to do, to attract more sales, or is a home run and they can put it in cruise control.

Last edited by LatinVenom : 03-08-2005 at 09:12 PM.
LatinVenom is offline
Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-2005, 09:03 PM
  
Super Moderator

mceb's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The hills of NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian
At first I was a little miffed at this guy, but now that I have read all of the facts I cannot fault him for trying to make a sale and using all tools available to him.
They should use forums like this one to generate leads.
__________________
2006 VIN #30, first 1000 series, black exterior, sand/steel interior
Index of useful threads: General, Tech


mceb is offline
Reply With Quote