Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

trifecta

985 views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  DaveOC 
#1 ·
Where do you go for the tunes,I see in the threads there not happy with trifecta set up offered ,Im new and about to do some of the up grades you all suggested.[2007 gxp -auto} budget tune and flow thru converter.at the beginning it seemed all you had to do is give the specs and in a short time you get the computer settings and go,now people are saying long turn around times and settings not working,people you trusted before are leaving or there not interested in helping any more.Im no engineer and just need to walked thru the proper procedures . thank you for the help.

#2 ·
I decided to go with the GMPP tune because it's known good, maintained by HM and works well. Consider it. See what crate engine depot is selling the kit for now.

#3 ·
Here's my take on everything. A "Canned" tune should be fine from Trifecta. There should be absolutely 0 issues. There are no major adjustments they have to make. I believe that most people that have not been happy with Trifecta had a custom tune where they had to email data logs back for adjustments....not something a canned tune needs. As far as GMPP goes, it's expensive. Why pay a dealer $400-$600 to just program the ECM? Secondly you need new MAP sensors. Another $150-$250. If you're going to spend that much money and you know how programming works, I'd just buy HPTuners. Your other option is to find a local tuner or go through DDM or PAW here on the forums for the Trifecta tune. If you go through DDM or PAW, they have a bit more pull with this vendor then you or I do considering they sell multiple tunes from them. So.....basically your options for a tune are:

Vendors:
DDM
PAW
Wersters (if he still does them)
Local Shop - just make certain they have LNF experience

Programs:
Trifecta - email
GMPP - done through a dealership and need 3.0bar MAP sensors

Programmers:
HPTuners