Question For Those That Are Mechanics... - Pontiac Solstice Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Pontiac Solstice Forum > Off Topic > General Off Topic
Register Home Forum Gallery Owner Registry Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

SolsticeForum.com is the premier Pontiac Solstice Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2013, 10:50 AM   #1 (permalink)

Question For Those That Are Mechanics...

For those of you that are mechanics out there and don't mind sharing. I am a mechanic at a small local service station and I make $9 and hour. I have a two year degree in automotive and am working on my ASE mastertech Cert. So on to the question.. what is your wage? Do you work at a dealership or independent shop? and what certs do you hold? For those of you who want to share its greatly appreciated!
2.4solstice06 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-02-2013, 11:49 AM   #2 (permalink)

I'm a service manager for Honda and my techs start at 11.50 an hour for lube guys that just do the basic maintainance, a full repair technician starts at around 15.00-17.00 and my masters make over 25 an hour.
Alan_L is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 12:06 PM   #3 (permalink)

I started out the same way for Pep Boys as an installer @ $8/hr with commission. in just 3 months I had brakes, Hvac,suspension, auto trans and the promoted me to a tec. The more ASE certs you can earn the more $$$ you can make.
rooster33 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 02:04 PM   #4 (permalink)

I am an all around Class A Journeyman Mechanic, with Hvac 608, 609 & Universal certs, lamps, brakes, electrical, smog, and all ASE for automotive, but i decided to let them lapse 15yrs ago.