stock clutch power and torque limits? - Pontiac Solstice Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-17-2016, 08:58 PM Thread Starter

stock clutch power and torque limits?

So I'm in a dilemma with my clutch. I just bought another sky a couple of months ago after mine had been unfortunately flooded... The car is in great shape even better than the last when I had bought that one. I picked it up with only 41k miles on her. I got home and had the car stock for about 3 weeks and then threw on a e47 tune and intake. The car runs fantastic and clutch held great. Well it wasnt until about 3 weeks after having the e47 tune on that the clutch had begun to slip. Now I've heard some people say this and that about our stock clutch. I'm a good driver with a clutch as I have driven manual transmission my entire life.

My questions is this: As of the near future, I only want to do full bolt ons and e47 tune on stock turbo. I do plan to go with a zzp zfr later, but not in the super near future. So should a brand new oem clutch be ok to handle the roughly 400 wheel ft lbs of torque that a stock turbo full bolt ons set up can make? I've had the DDM works performance clutch and it is absolutely fantastic! However, with a stock turbo and full bolt ons, I believe it would be quite excessive for a smaller amount of power.

Can anyone chime in on how their oem clutch is doing and on your power level?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-18-2016, 05:42 AM

The stock clutch is good for about 350ft/lbs. And I'd give +/- 30ft/lbs. My car has 80k on it, and I have 317ft/lbs at the wheels. Let me ask you a question....are you sure you don't have a rear main seal leak? Mine has a slight leak and when it sits all winter, my clutch slips for the first several hundred miles at higher torque levels. I didn't know I had one until my last oil change at a new dealer I'm going too. I might actually get around to fixing it this winter!