2007 engine light on - Pontiac Solstice Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Pontiac Solstice Forum > Technical Solstice Discussion > Mods - Engine 2.4 l Ecotec
Register Home Forum Gallery Owner Registry Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

SolsticeForum.com is the premier Pontiac Solstice Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2012, 07:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
roadstar30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
2007 engine light on

ok I got the check engine light come on the other day???
I read the code p0606 which states computer problem??
there's only 27k on here. i cleared the code but it came back on again.
seemed to run fine
can i buy a new or used computer for her and what should i look for???
I been looking on e bay not sure what i am looking for!!!
thanks
roadstar30 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2012, 10:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Moderator
 
rob the elder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Parker Colorado, USA, directly above the center of the earth
Before you buy a new ECM, have your tech run diagnostics. Could be something simple or unrelated to the actual hardware. Also, they need to install the software and configure it.
__________________
Rob the Elder

Punisher's Daddy
Green Dragon's chief mechanic
Carol's husband for 46 years

Secretary Rocky Mountain Solstice and Sky Club
Punisher's story
http://www.solsticeforum.com/forum/f62/punisher-65168/
http://www.skyroadster.com/forums/f2...cussion-42115/

rob the elder is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2012, 02:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
2.4solstice06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Granby, Ma
All Data pretty much says to test for opens / shorts / high resistance in every connection to the PCM and if everything checks out to just replace it. I would just take the car to a mechanic you trust, because if it does need an ECM, which it mostly likely does, it will still need to be relearned or the car won't even run and the crank needs to be relearned as well
2.4solstice06 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2012, 02:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
llllfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Make sure all fuses, relays and jacks are plugged in tight.
Ecm,BCM.
LLLFLY
__________________
08 PW SKY R/L 5-spd,The Wolf
Winner Goodyear Bimp flight 2010 NASSM
Best of Show Old Bridge,NJ 2011
Winner best interior 2012 NASSM
DDMWorks:,WindRestrictor
Elizabethtown,PA
llllfly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2012, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
roadstar30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I will check out connection to see if there all tight.
There's not many people i trust with my cars i do most of my own wrenching!!!
not so sure about computers in cars though,
i see on ebay they update them to your car vin #
roadstar30 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2012, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
WintR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Florissant, MO
If you replace your ECM, you have to have a tool to perform the Crank Angle Sensor (CAS) relearn. Not many sources for these tools, since the DashHawk went out of production.
__________________
Deep, steel/sand, loaded except standard radio and no smoker's; #08974
Mods: Kappasphere CAI, Clear Image Shorty Header, second horn, visor decals, mudflaps, tonneau cover, brake light flasher, trailer hitch, 'lil Chromies, trunk monkey, retune, DDMWorks backbone, GMPP Suspension, wood grain dash, Solo Quiet cat-back exhaust, deleted:Solo high-flow cat
WintR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 06:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
2.4solstice06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Granby, Ma
It shouldn't cost much to have it relearned, the dealership might charge an hours labor. I relearned mine with a snap on solus scan tool, so you aren't limited to the dealership. not to mention the ecm is pretty easy to get at and takes about 30 seconds to change
2.4solstice06 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 05:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
roadstar30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
just a quick up date or observation so i drove the car on a longer hyw. drive today when i started the car the engine light was on, so while driving the car i removed the code and it never came back while driving the 20 or so miles. But when i shut off the car the code was back when i started it for the trip back. so i cleared it again and drove it home and no code came back till next time i start it, Any ideas before i do more checking for loose connections or buy the used ecm.
roadstar30 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 09:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
RedDevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Do you have a 2.0 or 2.4? On my old 2.4 I had this problem, brought it to the dealership and they checked that same code, told me there was a recall for a software update on my 07' 2.4. They installed it and it ran fine after that. Call your dealership and give them the code over the phone and tell them your year make and model, they can tell you over the phone if there is a recall or bulletin/fix for it or not before you bring it in.
__________________
Red Devil 07' Solstice - Sport Package ( traded in 2012' )
Black Widow 08' Solstice - GXP
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y15...Car_Colage.jpg
http://www.hulu.com/watch/357322/my-...?from=fb_share
RedDevil is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-07-2013, 06:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
roadstar30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
so i have an apointment with the stealer on weds. I am hoping it is the software update that will correct my problem. they charge 119 per hour. If they tell me its the emc that needs to be replaced i am going to be pissed!!! I read that code myself i will need more info from them. he did say that the update had something to do with the emissions.
and that the cat is warnanteed for 125 k I really dont think thats my problem.
roadstar30 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2013, 03:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
roadstar30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Well all done cost
$258.00 light is gone two hours of labor.
roadstar30 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2013, 02:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
check engine light just came on. I have a 2007 gxp. just prior to light coming on, my gas cap not on properly came on. I have since put cap on properly and driven about 30 miles. light is still on. engine seems to run good. no noticeable difference. any suggestions?
Bighead is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac Solstice Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:59 AM.



Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.