Question on shorty vs tri-y headers - Pontiac Solstice Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Pontiac Solstice Forum > Technical Solstice Discussion > Mods - Engine 2.4 l Ecotec
Register Home Forum Gallery Owner Registry Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

SolsticeForum.com is the premier Pontiac Solstice Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2006, 11:50 AM   #1 (permalink)

Question on shorty vs TRI-Y headers + various performance mods

Hey everybody, I have been on these boards for a little over a month now, but am more of a "lurker" than anything It's been immensely informative reading all these posts, especially with regards to performance gains on the Solstice. I do have a few question, and be basic with me, I'm not a car techie!

I keep hearing about tri-y headers and shorty headers....what is the difference? Do you do one or the other, or both? ALso, if you order a catback exhaust system, does it include muffler?

Once spring comes and that good ol' tax rebate check comes in, I'll have about 1500 dollars or so. What is the best way to spend that money for the best gains? Here is what I, JUST BASED off what I've read, have come up with:

TRI-Y Headers/Shorty (not sure, see above)
GM CAI
Magnaflow Catback System
ECM Retune

Could I get that for 1500? I'm not a HUGE performance guy who wants to do turboes and what kind of thing, I just want to do the basics to give it a little more "oompf". Thanks in advance!

Last edited by thebacon; 09-22-2006 at 12:08 PM.
thebacon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-22-2006, 01:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Founding Member

Since you are not a HUGE performance guy then go with the Shorty Header, CAI, CatBack (Includes muffler) and ECM.