Church of the Holy Donut - Pontiac Solstice Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Pontiac Solstice Forum > Clubs, Events & Regional Discussion > Northeast > MASC/MASSC
Register Home Forum Gallery Owner Registry Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Auto Escrow

SolsticeForum.com is the premier Pontiac Solstice Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2009, 05:47 PM   #1 (permalink)

Church of the Holy Donut

New to this forum, as I am new to my Solstice Coupe.

I wonder if folks in the region are aware of The Church of the Holy Donut, a weekly car cruise each Sunday morning in the Giant Shopping Center in Burtonsville, Maryland. Right where 198 goes under 29.

It's a free early cruise-in, starting around 8 am, everyone is usually gone by 10:30 to 11.

On a good weather day, the parking lot of the shopping center is about full with over 200 cars of all kinds: Hot Rods, Muscle Cars new and old, restored vintage cars, sometimes some vintage military vehicles and usually a dozen or so Ferraris, Lambos, and Panteras that ride in together. Usually at least one Ford GT. Of course, every kind of new and old Vette you can think of, and lately all kinds of bikes have been showing up.

Nearly every week brings something new and/or unusual: a fully restored Marcos, last week one of the GM Fuel Cell SUV's.

Although there are usually more than a few exotics along with the muscle/vintage/hotrods, the show is happily devoid of tuner cars. I'm guessing because the youngsters are not up that early!

Been taking a Lotus there for a few years...haven't seen Kappa too much. One guy regularly brings his silver Sky, and a couple of weeks ago a nice Solstice convertible was parked next to it.

I did take the Coupe two Sundays ago two days after I bought it, and it generated a little bit of attention.