Complete and Total Newbie - Pontiac Solstice Forum
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-30-2019, 12:03 PM Thread Starter

Complete and Total Newbie

I have had a moment and purchased a used 2008 GXP- 5 speed! Black on Black in Alabama for the summer!

I need any and all advice! Specifically how to get started/where to start! Starting to find little issues, like door locks don't work- at times, the stereo acts like a CD is trapped, fog lights won't come on, seat height doesn't work.

Never thought I'd be a "car" girl but want to learn how to do most of the work myself and have a baby to be proud of!

I bought the manuals, something my Dad told me to always do- so he could work on my cars! Never imagined I would be attempting to do this for myself.

Is there a book or YouTube series on how to start troubleshooting these little bugs? Or who knows they might be huge issues! I don't know!

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-30-2019, 12:18 PM

For electrical gremlins one of the things you should do is to open the covers of both fuse blocks: the one under the hood and the one on the Body Control Module (BCM) that is under the passenger side carpet.
First check for blown fuses, of course, but then push on every fuse and every relay. They have been know to vibrate loose.

There is a thread on the forum that details everything to check on and a lot of dos and donts. RobtheElder will probably post a link to it.

And, welcome to the forum and the family.
Sting Ya and easyryderca like this.

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-30-2019, 12:19 PM

Garage
Welcome to the forum - and welcome to Alabama!

Just An Ordinary Average Guy

With A Super Cool Car!
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-30-2019, 01:53 PM

Way back in the day we'd say "Welcome to Permagrin" to a new Sol owner.

Your Dad is a wise man!

First tip: