Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

Coupe 378 - Mod Thread

22K views 64 replies 21 participants last post by  RacerX1 
#1 ·
Somone asked if I had posted a mod thread, and I hadn’t as I avoided mentioning doing anything to my car as long as it was on warranty. No reason not to post now.

I bought my GXP manual transmission coupe (one of 281) on August 20, 2009. That means that my warranty has now expired and I am able to talk about my upgrade process with the car without endangering any coverage, so I thought I’d post a synopsis of my development path on this car. Long and potentially boring, so avoid if tech isn’t your thing.

Background: I have been building road racing and streetable sports cars since 1973 when I took my daily driver, an MGA, off the road and outfitted it for competition use, and bought a trailer. That was about a two year learning curve where I ran a dozen races a season, and in between races I figured out why any part that had broken had failed and fixed it in a way that was intended to prevent that particular DNF mode from recurring. Along the way, I got in a lot of track time and became a smoother and competitive driver, while sorting out my then 15 year old car (which I still own).

I’ve owned between 70 and 80 cars over the intervening years and have probably modified 90% of them to improve performance, so I developed a pretty good sense of what made a difference and what was just window dressing. I also got good enough at wrenching to be able to avoid most potential problems in advance, rather than fixing things after they went wrong (my transplant of a GM 3.4 V6 and T5 gearbox into another 1956 MGA that had a Fiberfab Jamaican body on it, worked so well that it started the first time I turned the key and nothing at all failed to work except the tach which needed an amplifier unit and the speedo, which wasn’t getting a signal from the GM sensor in the trans.