Diag question - Pontiac Solstice Forum
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 11:40 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
The_Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 3,689
Diag question

If I unplug my upstream O2 sensor, will that force a "rich" condition? In other words, will it force a rich commanded AFR? It should change if this is not my current issue for my rich commanded AFR, right????

____________________________________________

Solo Street Race exhaust
Fujita CAI
ASAP T2 stripes and badging
Windrestrictor V2 lighted in white
Windrestrictor lighted door sills lighted in white
DDM Works IC Piping
Undercar LEDs in white to match Windrestrictor

ZZPerformance dyno tuned - 286HP, 317ft/lbs of torque at 23psi of boost.
The_Ghost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 01:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 5,669
What is your O2 sensor reading? I know it is probably in the other thread, but since you started a new one it is easier to ask. I think that if you unplug it you will immediately get a code and will probably go into some sort of limp mode.

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
JohnWR is online now  
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
The_Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 3,689
I know... it actually stayed at 13.79 for my commanded AFR...so I'm wondering if its not the upstream O2 sensor, or something in the emissions.... It reads between 2 (super lean or 27.58) and .78 which is pig rich....

____________________________________________

Solo Street Race exhaust
Fujita CAI
ASAP T2 stripes and badging
Windrestrictor V2 lighted in white
Windrestrictor lighted door sills lighted in white
DDM Works IC Piping
Undercar LEDs in white to match Windrestrictor

ZZPerformance dyno tuned - 286HP, 317ft/lbs of torque at 23psi of boost.
The_Ghost is offline  
post #4 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 03:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 5,669
It appears to me that the sensor is working. I wonder if you don't have a bad injector. What does the injector control look like?

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
JohnWR is online now  
post #5 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 08:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
The_Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 3,689
The pulse length seems to be pretty consistent across all 4 of them. I do have occasional misfires on 1, 2 and 4, but it only seems to happen during FCO and I think that's because it's commanding 27.58 instead of 29.4, so it's getting just a tad bit of fuel in there. I ordered an hptuners cable so I can data log with it.... I was hoping someone near me would step up, but the 2 members that are close to me and have hptuners won't do a log to help me. I got someone to finally say yes, but they live about 45 minutes from me. I'd just rather order the cable so I can do it when I need to now...

____________________________________________

Solo Street Race exhaust
Fujita CAI
ASAP T2 stripes and badging
Windrestrictor V2 lighted in white
Windrestrictor lighted door sills lighted in white
DDM Works IC Piping
Undercar LEDs in white to match Windrestrictor

ZZPerformance dyno tuned - 286HP, 317ft/lbs of torque at 23psi of boost.
The_Ghost is offline  
post #6 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-08-2019, 07:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 5,669
Are you saying that the injector pulse doesn't react to the O2 sensor reading? That sounds like you are in open loop control. Some form of limp mode.

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
JohnWR is online now  
post #7 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-08-2019, 10:21 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
The_Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 3,689
No..the O2 sensor does react, but the commanded AFR seems to react more to the gas pedal position then the actual measured AFR reading. Torque shows the car goes into closed loop, but not sure how it determines that. If it does it by temp sensor on cat, then there could be an issue of the car staying in an open loop and me not knowing it. My problem is that the tuner at ZZP could have turned the CEL light off for certain things and I don't know it. I'm also wondering if my waste gate isn't stuck open....I hear a lot of air rushing that I've never heard before when I go into boost.... But the car still goes. Just yesterday I was driving it. Layed rubber all through first and second gear at 21psi....just sounds different now though with all the air rush sound.

____________________________________________

Solo Street Race exhaust
Fujita CAI
ASAP T2 stripes and badging
Windrestrictor V2 lighted in white
Windrestrictor lighted door sills lighted in white
DDM Works IC Piping
Undercar LEDs in white to match Windrestrictor

ZZPerformance dyno tuned - 286HP, 317ft/lbs of torque at 23psi of boost.
The_Ghost is offline  
post #8 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-08-2019, 11:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 5,669
The air leak seems an obvious starting point, along with a call to the tuner.

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
JohnWR is online now  
post #9 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-08-2019, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
The_Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 3,689
So John...I think I FINALLY have the answer. Apparently the tuner that did my tune shut off the O2 sensor CEL. I just went down to put gas in my car (about 3 miles each way) as I was going to drive it tomorrow to work (about 14 miles each way). And my Torque app FINALLY showed this message on one of the gauges:

Fuel Status: Closed Loop 1 O2 sensor (fault)

So I'm going to guess that this means sensor 1, the upstream O2 sensor (wideband)?

Too be honest, the vibration is gone...so I'm "hoping" this is the issue!!!!

Of course I've been known to be wrong before!! LOL....

____________________________________________

Solo Street Race exhaust
Fujita CAI
ASAP T2 stripes and badging
Windrestrictor V2 lighted in white
Windrestrictor lighted door sills lighted in white
DDM Works IC Piping
Undercar LEDs in white to match Windrestrictor

ZZPerformance dyno tuned - 286HP, 317ft/lbs of torque at 23psi of boost.
The_Ghost is offline  
post #10 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-08-2019, 05:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 5,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Ghost View Post
So John...I think I FINALLY have the answer. Apparently the tuner that did my tune shut off the O2 sensor CEL. I just went down to put gas in my car (about 3 miles each way) as I was going to drive it tomorrow to work (about 14 miles each way). And my Torque app FINALLY showed this message on one of the gauges:

Fuel Status: Closed Loop 1 O2 sensor (fault)

So I'm going to guess that this means sensor 1, the upstream O2 sensor (wideband)?

Too be honest, the vibration is gone...so I'm "hoping" this is the issue!!!!

Of course I've been known to be wrong before!! LOL....
Really? Disabling the #2 O2 sensor MIL is pretty common, but I have not heard of disabling it for the #1.

Yes, O2 1 would be the upstream wideband sensor.

So, the vibration is gone, did you replace the sensor?
raygun likes this.

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
JohnWR is online now  
post #11 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
The_Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 3,689
Hey John...I did not replace anything. I tightened down all of my ic piping clamps, from the turbo the throttle body elbow. I drove the car to work today. Got the same error and then about 5 miles from work, it cleared itself and showed open and closed loop after that. Vibration was awful this morning.

Got in the car at lunch....not vibration..none...nada....zip. Drove the car home, no vibration, but it's still commanding very rich. I was looking at my torque logs and the downstream o2 sensor is REALLY lazy...like 10 seconds lazy to go back to rich. I'm going to just replace both and hope this cures my issues. I was reading that the downstream should hover around 0.47...and mine is either 0.9 or 0.1...with a +- of .1. It's never hovering around 0.47. Ordering them as we speak from Amazon.

____________________________________________

Solo Street Race exhaust
Fujita CAI
ASAP T2 stripes and badging
Windrestrictor V2 lighted in white
Windrestrictor lighted door sills lighted in white
DDM Works IC Piping
Undercar LEDs in white to match Windrestrictor

ZZPerformance dyno tuned - 286HP, 317ft/lbs of torque at 23psi of boost.
The_Ghost is offline  
post #12 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 07:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 5,669
As far as i know, the downstream sensor has no effect on the engine, it is only there to monitor the cat.

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
JohnWR is online now  
post #13 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 08:10 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
The_Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 3,689
According to a tuner ive been talking with on the Cobalt forum, it does control emissions and AFR to an extent. And if its lazy, the computer automatically goes into an enrich mode to not damage the cat from running too lean but wont set a CEL as long as its active. He said it will only set a CEL if it loses connection with the ECM. Now how true that is...I dont know. I haven't been able to find anyone to back that up...but hes got a lot of posts over there and seemed knowledgable.

____________________________________________

Solo Street Race exhaust
Fujita CAI
ASAP T2 stripes and badging
Windrestrictor V2 lighted in white
Windrestrictor lighted door sills lighted in white
DDM Works IC Piping
Undercar LEDs in white to match Windrestrictor

ZZPerformance dyno tuned - 286HP, 317ft/lbs of torque at 23psi of boost.
The_Ghost is offline  
post #14 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 07:20 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
The_Ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 3,689
So a question John...what's the highest and lowest value that a wideband O2 sensor should see? I've read 0-5 volts... but mine is only showing 0-2 volts. Any thoughts? My new sensors should be here tomorrow...but just wanted to know.

____________________________________________

Solo Street Race exhaust
Fujita CAI
ASAP T2 stripes and badging
Windrestrictor V2 lighted in white
Windrestrictor lighted door sills lighted in white
DDM Works IC Piping
Undercar LEDs in white to match Windrestrictor

ZZPerformance dyno tuned - 286HP, 317ft/lbs of torque at 23psi of boost.
The_Ghost is offline  
post #15 of 33 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 08:57 AM
Member
 
easyryderca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: okanagan valley b.c. canada
Posts: 929
Thanks for posting this thread Ghost as its a real learning curve for me.
easyryderca is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac Solstice Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome