Sluggish acceleration - Pontiac Solstice Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By JohnWR

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-13-2019, 04:54 PM Thread Starter

Sluggish acceleration

I did a search but didn't find anything. I have an 07 GXP with the 5 speed. When I am on the freeway doing about 65 and slowly push the throttle to the floor, I get no boost and very slow acceleration. If I lift a little and then stomp on it, 1 get 15 psi of boost and lots of acceleration. I am new to small displacement turbo engines. I grew up in the age of large displacement V8's. Is this normal or do I have a problem.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-13-2019, 05:19 PM

I guess it depends on what you mean when you say that you "slowly push the throttle". Mine seems to accelerate proportionally to pedal displacement. If I push it what I consider very slowly its acceleration matches pedal movement without needing boost. As long as it works when you "stomp it", I wouldn't worry.
sirwm likes this.

John
Lexington, KY
Sky NA 2007 Midnight Blue
Sky RL 2008 Carbon Flash - Naked
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-15-2019, 02:41 PM

So John are you saying that suddenly this is a change from the norm in your GXP or that the way the GXP is 100% new to you and you're unsure if it is the way it's supposed to work?

15 psi is fairly representative of the norm in my experience, but your elevation can affect that...in Florida I'd say you're close to sea level. I live fairly close to the ocean and see 15psi as a normal thing, but the range has been 14-18psi depending (two different GXPs), before I installed the GM turbo upgrade tune in my previous GXP. Afterwards I'd see 18-22psi.