Turbo problem - Pontiac Solstice Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By rob the elder
  • 1 Post By LatinVenom
  • 1 Post By raygun

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 01:04 PM Thread Starter

Turbo problem

The turbo on my GXP has lost PSIs. I used to get 21psi, now I can only get 5-6psi. Took it to an auto repair shop and they told me they would need to replace the entire turbo at a cost of about $2,000.00. My car is a 2008 but only has 30,000 miles on it. I'm not an extreme driver and seldom was the turbo induced. How could it be worn out? It is only driven six months of the year and is stored the other six months. Could this have caused a problem? Any suggestions or remedies? I'm not a mechanic so speak in layman's terms.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 04:38 PM

Location: Parker Colorado, USA, directly above the center of the earth
Welcome
It sounds like your car is in "limp mode light"
When the ECM thinks there may be a problem but the car is drivable, it will limit boost to 6 pounds. You can use an OBD code reader, or get your local parts store to read it for you to see. Often clearing the code will fix the issue. If it comes back, find the error code using the reader and go from there
easyryderca likes this.

Rob the Elder

Punisher's Daddy
Green Dragon's chief mechanic
Carol's husband for 50 years

Secretary Rocky Mountain Solstice and Sky Club
Punisher's story
https://www.solsticeforum.com/forum/f62/punisher-65168/
Punisher thread index
https://www.solsticeforum.com/forum/f...ml#post1765649
https://www.solsticeforum.com/forum/f...ml#post2067289

post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 07:04 PM Thread Starter