All-Season vs. Summer Tires - Pontiac Solstice Forum
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 11:20 AM Thread Starter

Garage
All-Season vs. Summer Tires

I have no experience with a summer tire. Every vehicle I have ever owned got all-season tires. My Solstice came to me two years ago with some all-season Yokohamas that are due to be replaced. I've been happy with them.

As I'm searching for my next set of tires the options are mind boggling. There are a few A/S option in my price range, but there are a bunch of Summer tires coming up as well at a decent price that I'm tempted to try.

I live in the mountains. We get some rain but not alot. We got over 7 feet of snow this winter which is about average. I park my car around the beginning of Nov. and don't bring it back out of storage until the end of April so I miss most of the wintery weather anyway. But you never know when you get caught by snow out of season (we had two snow storms over an inch in May) or other adverse weather.

My question is: How limiting is a summer tire if I go that route? I'm not looking for a brand recommendation. I want to know if a summer tire is so awesome in the summer it's worth the degraded performance in foul weather. I want to know how bad they are when they turn bad. Or are they not worth the risk and just stick with all-season? How different is a summer tire from all-season, really?

Chris

"Sunny" - '08 Brazen Orange 2.4 Auto... 7660 feet up in the mountains
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 11:30 AM

You may want to look at "Ultra High Performance" (UHP) all-seasons. Not quite as good on dry roads or the track as Summer-only tires, but as good or better in the wet and far better in the cold/snow.

One such are the Continental DWS tires, but there are a number of others. You can search on Tire Rack's site Or Discount Tire Direct for options and reviews.