Riken Raptor A/S? - Pontiac Solstice Forum
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 06:47 PM Thread Starter

Riken Raptor A/S?

Back when the Solstice was still in production, there was lots and lots of talk about tires. Even though I am new to Solstice ownership, I know this, because I've been trying to read it all! Sadly (well, sad for newbies, anyway; you old-timers are probably sick to death with talking tires!) most of the chatter about tires has died down in recent years.

One of the tires favored by you guys and gals back in the good ol' days was the Riken Raptor UHP summer, which is no longer available.

There is, however, an an all-season UHP Raptor, which gets pretty good reviews from both testers and consumers. The one thing they seem to agree on is the tires get noisy after a while.

I'd love to order a set, because they are apparently a well-reviewed, good-quality tire that is also cheap. However, SWMBO hates road noise, so I was wondering if anyone in Solstice land is riding on these tires and can comment on the noise issue?

I'm wondering too, if road noise when top down (the only way we drive) is as intrusive as it is in a closed car.

Thanks for your thoughts!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 08:42 PM

Garage
When I bought my Solstice last June it came with Raptor ZR UHP summers on it. The summers were virtually brand new.

Last Fall I swapped them out for Raptor A/S and now have the summers in storage.

Personally I like the performance of the Riken UHP summer tires. They perform well in dry and the rain. Did well on track too with a few laps at Barber Motorsports Park.

The A/S are a bit stiffer and not quite as "sticky."

I really like the aggressive tread pattern on the Riken Raptors. They channel water well, but with these cars I believe you have to use caution in rain no matter what tire you choose.