Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

GM Stage II Kit review

213K views 647 replies 154 participants last post by  ZPM 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello all!

I am the owner of a 2008 Solstice GXP, whose name is Flash. My wife refers to it as a "he", I am prone to referencing it as a "she". In deference to my wife's wishes, I shall refer to it as neutral gender or by name.

Flash is Carbon Flash Metallic (Magnetic), and through a string of fortunate events is the recipient of the first official aftermarket install of the Performance Upgrade Kit for the Solstice/SKY.

How did this happen, you may ask.

Under full disclosure, I am an engineer that works on the platform for General Motors. I cannot answer questions regarding future product plans, so please do not ask. My name is Steve Padilla, and I have met with many of the members here on the forum and have been involved with the forum through many channels almost from the beginning. I have spoken to and/or met with just about all of the administrators, supermoderators and moderators on this forum. I have had to be very careful about any information disclosed, and have only recently decided to register on the forum after buying and taking delivery of Flash, since I am now an official owner. Any opinions expressed in my posts are my own, and I do not represent General Motors, nor am I participating on this forum as a GM representative.

When a new performance upgrade kit is developed, it is necessary to try these kits on production vehicles. Sometimes it is with a company-owned saleable vehicle, but many times in exchange for being a trial install guinea pig, a lucky actual owner of a production vehicle becomes the first install. This owner also becomes a 'sentinel' for potential issues or problems, and the install becomes a test case for checking the proper part numbers, correct instructions, and such.