Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

Is a Hahn 20G right for me?

3K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  oldguydb 
#1 ·
Hello All,

I'm new to these cars, but not turbochargers. '07 GXP manual trans, 3,500 miles. Stock at present. I'm not looking to go near the edge, I'd rather stay conservative. This is really Wifie's toy, but I really like these cars too.

I have a Hahn 20G kit that looks to be complete sans a few small items. Uses the stock flange on turbine outlet. Not a V-band like on earlier? versions.
Has the silicon hose ass'y that uses a Turbosmart "plumb back" bov. https://www.hahnracecraft.com/collections/charge-air-piping-solstice-gxp
I don't see the Mitsu turbochargers on Hahn's site, perhaps that don't uses them any longer. I have had no response to an e-mailed request to Hahn asking to buy installation instructions. If anyone has instructions, I'd gladly pay a few bucks for a copy.

A tune, of course. 93 octane. Chopped stock air box [extra one coming]. Any options besides an oiled K-N? Will do a full 3" exhaust of some sort. I have a 5" body high flow cat, looks to be a Solo [sold by Hahn too? - bought used with the turbo kit].

If the stock IC and piping is only going to give up say 15-20 rw horse max, I doubt that I'll fool with that area. Is the 20G worth a bunch on a safe boost level with such a combo? I understand that lag will be an issue, but I should see full boost by say 3500-3800? At similar boost levels [stock or raised but safe level], is the 20G more efficient [cooler discharge temps] compared to the stocker?

Thanks for any advice.
Dave

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
Stay away from K&N oiled filters your MAF will be severely compromise. The stock GM filter is excellent.
The stock IC piping is fine and will not give up anything, on the other hand if you put that 20G turbo you will need a better IC.

Reactions: Sting Ya
#5 · (Edited)
Thanks, Gents.