Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure there are plenty of threads on the subject, but I'm stuck as I install the new head unit into my Solstice. I turn to the gurus who have been doing this for far longer than I have here, as I am a novice at best (I've done a few things, but never this comprehensive...)

I've been searching up and down the forum and beyond for as much info as possible. There are a lot of good threads/info, but many of the photos have gone to the great internet graveyard in the cloud, so some of the descriptions are hard to follow.

First, the car. It's a 2007 GXP. Automatic Transmission, No Monsoon, No Onstar. No XM. I'm not replacing the speakers, or adding an amp/sub at this time.

What I am adding is:
Kenwood Excelon DMX706S from Crutchfield
With that I got the:
Metra 40-CR10 Antenna Adapter
Metra 95-3302 Dash Kit
Axxess ASWC-1 Steering Wheel Control Adapter
Metra LC-GMRC-LAN-03 Wiring Interface
I also had Crutchfield put the main harness together.​
Boyo VTL17IRTJ Universal backup cam​
SiriusXM SXV300V1 Tuner
I also have a USB extender with a flush mound Dash input that I would like to place somewhere near the transmission tunnel/center console and wire back to the receiver​

I'm not having much trouble with the receiver installation, .I had Crutchfield do the harness for me. Though even with the harness service, there are non connected wires from the Axxess ASWC-1 that I can't figure out where they connect too. There is no connector, they are just loose. I'm going to have to call them on that.

I have the boomerang removed, and hanging from the review mirror with a bungee cord. I unplugged all of the HVAC controls, the interior light dimming switch and the traction control on/off switch. The plug for the traction control switch looks odd, and I wonder if I broke it. But I will worry about that when I start putting it back together.