Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

New guy here. My name is Dan and I am a salesman for Pontiac. Today I participated in the Ride and Drive for the greater Chicagoland area. The program was setup for the Solstice and the Torent SUV. Lemme tell ya, when I pulled up and I saw the row of Solstices waiting to be driven around town, I made a small squeak of a sound as my face turned into pure happiness. However, I looked passed them and towards the back of the building and into the parking lot and saw a coned of course. "Oh baby!" I screamed out as I stood there by myself. After signing up and getting a bagel and some juice, I got my schedule. Awesome, my group was setup to do closed course test drives as our first "activity". Walk outside and waiting for us were four cars. A silver Solstice was the lead car in the loading area. Next was a white Miata of the 05' year. Another Solstice followed that one, but it had leather and was black. The last car stood there and glistened in the sun. A black 05' S2000 waited for its flogging around the tight track of "S" turns. After a small talking from the course supervisor, everyone paired up and got ready to rock and roll. Me being alone at the event I waited for the first few couples to go so I could watch the track. The track starts out as a straightaway which is just long enough to screach out a second gear shift. After the second gear shift you have to immediately start to brake to stop for a stop sign, so you can get a sense of the braking. This leads to the "S" turns, a long right hander, the slalom, a 90* bend(watch for the ass to kick out here), and finally a couple of speed bumps to feel the chasis on uneven road conditions. First car available, the Miata. I open the door and... uumm... wait... no... scratch that. At 6'5 I could not fit in this thing, well enough to actually use the clutch. Reviews on the Miata was that it was easy to toss around, but the