Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all...

I'm new to Synthetic oil ( I'm thinking about Mobile 1 15,000 mile )
and wonder about it benefits over conventional oil.

Is it worth the extra money???

If its 15,000 then do you just change the filter every 5000 miles or so???

I have the convenience package, which will say:
oil life = 92%.
but this is based on 5 or 6,000 miles, ... right????
Could this be reset for a 15,000 interval????

There are alot of questions, I know....

Maybe it would be easier to stick with the conventional oil...????

PS: I think I saw a synthetic oil on the shelves that was not rated for 15,000 miles but for 5,000 mile intervals......

Is there much benefits from hte synthetic stuff?????

thks
frank
:willy: :willy: :willy: :willy: :willy:

·
Registered
515 Posts
There's a ton of info out there, but you can boil it down to a few things.
  • Stands up to high temps better
  • Is a better lubricant
  • Bonds to engine parts
A friend of mine is an engineer for a major engine component supplier [edited, just in case]. Since they switched their test stands to synthetics, lifespan has tripled. Once burn in is over, I will switch to synthetics.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Some reasons

There are almost too many benifits to using synthetic oil over conventional oils that can be listed but here are a few and the miles depends on the type or brand you use but any synthetic oil will last over 5k miles easy.
When mobil 1 first came out to compete with Amsoil they stated their oil would last 25k miles/one year as Amsoil claimed (which they still do and have too many years of proof that it does last that long and still protects as long as you change the oil filter every 6 months. I've done this over 9 years. If you buy their most expensive oil (Amsoil again) the series 2000 it's rated up to 35k or one year. Either way you save money in oil costs and less pollution goes back to the earth.