Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody,
my name's Sebastian, and I'm a college student who isn't much into cars but I was looking into upgrading my beat up car and looking for something affordable but nice and with some personality. Lord did I find that with the Solstice. I have actually fell in love with the car and have been searching for one non stop since then. Not only that I am now looking at dash kits and mods and other things completely out of my character. I really think this car is the first one I could imagine not only owning, but like really wanting to make it a personal project and put some money into it over time.

I've narrowed it down to two options and I was hoping for some guidance and advice.

Option 1 is an almost perfect condition 2007 base model, pearl grey with tan interior. 130k Miles, automatic
listed at 7.5k I think I could bring it down to 7k maybe 6.5k if I pay in cash.
Gear shift Speedometer Vehicle Motor vehicle Trip computer

I love this look and this style. I'd likely still explore dash kits for the plastic console if it's as not to my liking. But other then that I would be more then happy with the car as is.

Option 2 is a black GXP model. Interior pictured below. 96k miles, automatic
8k starting. was offered to me for 7k, I believe I can bring it down to 6.5k even 6k if its in cash.
Hood Car Vehicle Car seat cover Steering wheel

Here is the catch. It has a valve timing issue that will require fixing, smokes white smoke on startup for a minute or so. with a little water but it isnt coolant as the car can run for hours without any signs of overheating and smoke doesn't smell like oil. I talked to a transmission/engine shop and they said I was looking at 1.5k on the low end and 3.5k on the high end. Unsure if its the actuator of timing chain but there is no rattling and is likely just the actuators from having the engine guy ask the shop about its condition.