Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello and sorry in advance for the long post, but I have been troubleshooting all week and am now stuck. I have a 2007 Solstice GXP Manual with less than 10,000 miles on it that is cranking but won’t start. I have done a lot of work on old 60’s/70’s cars, but this is my first time working on a new car, so I am trying to learn as I go thanks to this forum. The car hasn’t been started in about 4-5 years. Yes, I know this is terrible, but my dad (who owned it) was sick for a long time and couldn’t drive it. He never recovered and passed away a couple years ago. I haven’t touched it until now. It was kept in a garage in Vegas the entire time where it is warm most of the year. The gas had been drained and battery removed for storage. I filled the tank up halfway and bought a new battery and it cranked but wouldn’t run. To be fair, I would have been shocked if it did start. Here is what I have done so far:
  1. Checked the warning lights. The yellow check engine is on, but I believe that is normal until it fires up. Other than that, it is just the brake and seatbelt warnings. No security icon that would indicate that I’m locked out.
  2. All the rubber hoses still look and feel like new. Despite sitting so long, there isn’t a single stain on the floor, so nothing has been leaking. No rodents have ever been in the garage.
  3. I can hear the fuel pump every time I turn the key on.
  4. I disconnected the fuel line under the car (by the rear tire) and turned the key. Gas shot out onto the floor, so it is making its way out of the tank.
  5. After an embarrassing amount of time, I finally found the spark plugs and checked them. All 4 were badly fouled so I replaced them. No improvement.