Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:cuss: Here's a question which maybe a bit off this thread, but I haven't posted for a long while, as I have been in the UK.
I was a car salesman at a Pontiac dealership, until late August, when I resigned and went back into retirement. I had worked there for 6 months, and left on good terms. I ordered my Solstice on 24/4/05, it was finally preferenced whilst I was away. I went into the dealership today for an e-test on one of my Jags, and the dealer principal approached me and told me, (notice I didn't say ASKED), that my Solstice was due to be built week of 24/10/05, and that he was going to keep my car, and DEMO it to the public, until the next car they had on order arrived, and if I didn't like it, then I didn't have to take the car!!!!
Needless to say, I was flabbergasted at this, it felt like a gun was being put to my head! I went to see the New car manager,(dealer principal's son), and explained my outrage at this tactic by the dealer principal. The new car manager told me that as they had agreed to sell me the car back in April, WITHOUT ANY OVER INVOICE PRICING, he didn't think that I was in too bad a position! I pointed out that build date of 24/10 would probably mean delivery to dealership of mid November, and were they seriously thinking that I would cheerfully wait for them to demo the car to all and sundry in WINTER conditions, for God only knows how many kilometres, BEFORE they get their next car, and be happy to do so?
I called GM as soon as I got home and reported this high-handed attitude from this dealership. The lady at GM said that they don't get involved in the retail sales process between dealer and retail customer!!!!! IS THERE ANY WONDER THAT GM ARE GOING DOWN THE PAN?????