Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an 06 Sol that I installed a turbo on recently, and after turning up the boost a bit the other day, I'm getting some major slippage with the stock clutch. It has 92k miles on it, so I figure it did it's duty. Now comes the hard part of finding a replacement that will hold my newfound power. I've been searching for hours and hours, and have come to the conclusion that I really don't want a lightweight flywheel as I'd rather not take the chance of the harmonics others have reported. Also, I'm a college student, so budget is to be considered.

The Exedy Stage 2 clutch is the cheapest option, but I've heard bad things about puck clutches on the street, and since this is my daily driver, I'd like to keep it as streetable as possible. I'm also worried about overpowering the clutch, as I'm running about 14psi with a 2871r. Does anyone have any experience with the Exedy?

Spec has the largest selection of clutches for our cars, but since I'm not willing to use their aluminum flywheel, Spec said I'd need either the 2+ or 3+ to hold the power. I've read wonderful things about the 3+, but there are still a few dissenters. The biggest problem I have with Spec is how expensive they are, as the 3+ is almost $200 more than the Exedy and the 2+ isn't far behind. Has anyone been able to use the stock flywheel with one of the non-SAC Spec models? It seems that if I could do that, I could use the cheaper stage 2.

So, really, I'm looking for advice as to which direction I should go. I plan on buying a new stock flywheel as they have been reported to be hard to machine. Will the Exedy hold up and be relatively easy to drive? Should I just pony up the money for the Spec 3+? Thanks for the help

·
Registered
384 Posts