Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
686 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I will be doing my very first high speed touring event at Hallett Raceway on Sunday. I'm very excited!

I do have a brakes question. My car has roughly 50k miles on the original brake fluid. Never ha any issues, even on the pig trail runs. That said, I read that I should probably change out the fluid for a high temp fluid and go ahead an bleed the brakes.

Stupid question I'm sure:

Would this be advisable, to bleed the brakes and put in a new fluid before a race weekend?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Super Moderator
16,392 Posts
I have no specific knowledge to offer, however when we did track day in Austin at the nationals there were a lot of armatures on the track for a lot of hot laps with the factory brakes and no issues.

·
Registered
1,910 Posts
Oh, yeah. Especially after the Razorback Run. Flush and fill with Dot 4 or better. Track day running w/ moderate to hard braking WILL cook the stock, Dot 3, fluid.
Oh, and remember NOT to set your parking brake anytime during the track day. Aks me how I know...;)

·
Premium Member
10,464 Posts
As others have said, do the fluid change and bleed.
Make sure you test it with a few runs before the race.
Good luck and enjoy it.

·
Registered
14 Posts
For Hallett - Flush with a good hi-temp Dot 4 fluid. Make sure your pads are in good shape, and if you need, change out to a better pad. The stock pads will get soft at Hallett and leave a lot of material on the rotors.

Depending on how long your sessions will be, you may want to flush the radiator as well. It is going to be close to 100* and the cars do get hot running on a tight track like that.

Also - listen to your instructor. The bitch corner was named that for a reason!

·
Registered
848 Posts