Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
doesn anyone know how reputable this site is?

http://www.gminsidenews.com/factsheet.htm

there is mention there about an ION redline with a 200 hp turbo 2.4l, sounds feasable, but then there is also mention about the Redline VUE with the 3.5l v6 honda engine!?! im no expert, but it doenst seem likely that GM will use a honda engine, or is it?

·
Registered
1,844 Posts
Doesn't seen out of the ordinary. GM's Metro's and Trackers were manufactured by Suzuki and their Nova's by Toyota. Honda sold a SUV that was really an Isusu. I'm not familar with any tie-in with Honda, but GM is a major share holder of Isusu. The now defunct GEO line was to out source an entire car line. I can see advantages for GM. Honda engineers and makes great engines. I drive a Civic with over 220,000 miles and the engine, itself, has never given me one problem. It'd be ironic to have a Solstice with a Honda engine when the S2000 is one of the cars they've stated the want to immulate. I can see wanting to beat a Mazda(Ford)!

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
DreamerDave said:
Doesn't seen out of the ordinary. GM's Metro's and Trackers were manufactured by Suzuki and their Nova's by Toyota. Honda sold a SUV that was really an Isusu. I'm not familar with any tie-in with Honda, but GM is a major share holder of Isusu. The now defunct GEO line was to out source an entire car line. I can see advantages for GM. Honda engineers and makes great engines. I drive a Civic with over 220,000 miles and the engine, itself, has never given me one problem. It'd be ironic to have a Solstice with a Honda engine when the S2000 is one of the cars they've stated the want to immulate. I can see wanting to beat a Mazda(Ford)!