Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up my car this afternoon and let me just say that this car is awesome. I totally love it. :) :D :cool:

I am embarrased to tell of an experience that I had tonight though. :blush:
I am new to driving a manual transmission, so I really am not skilled at it yet. Still a lot of stalling going on and good stuff like that. I also had an experience that really scared me. I was slowing down for a turn and downshifted from 4th to 2nd. I believe that I hit the gas to try and bring up the RPMs so that they would match, but as soon as I let go of the clutch the whole back end started to skid out and I ended up doing a 180 and thankfully nothing happened to me or the car. It has just started to rain, so the road was just a little wet and it did not have a chance to wash off the oils from the road yet as well. If people could try and answer some of these questions I would greatly appreciate it.

1- Can you try to speculate what I might have done wrong. Too hard or soft on the gas maybe?
2- Is there anything that I can do to avoid this?
3- When skidding in a manual car what are you supposed to do with the clutch?
4- For a newbe what is the easiest way to downshift with out making the car jerk?

Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
1,838 Posts
SolsticeDesire said:
I picked up my car this afternoon and let me just say that this car is awesome. I totally love it. :) :D :cool: