Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We recently purchased a 2007 GXP 5 speed with only 3,000 miles but covered in vinyl. Upon delivery we were learned it may have been a pace car. Does anybody have any information in regards to this vehicles relevance? If is just another GXP the vinyl is coming off.

Thoughts?
Tire Wheel Car Vehicle Hood
Product Textile Sleeve Grey Font
Textile Sleeve Rectangle Gesture Musical instrument accessory

·
Registered
7,488 Posts
I've never heard of a Solstice Pace Car, but that doesn't mean it isn't real. The question is how anal are you about originality and provenance. If you can document that it was a pace car, then removing the graphics may hurt the value. Regardless, I just think it's cool that even after all these years that I'm still learning things about Kappa's.

·
Registered
4,886 Posts
I would look into this. I'm not quite sure that the Solstice would be fast enough, nor nimble enough to pace a Rolex field. There are certain speeds they must maintain so that the race cars don't overheat....espcially Rolex cars. Much like F1 (which must maintain at least 80mph around the track), Rolex cars also must maintain a certain speed. If this is a true pace car, I'm sure it would be worth north of $40k.

EDIT: I wonder if it wasn't used in the "Solstice series" that was televised for up and coming racers.

·
Administrator
9,788 Posts
I would look into this. I'm not quite sure that the Solstice would be fast enough, nor nimble enough to pace a Rolex field. There are certain speeds they must maintain so that the race cars don't overheat....espcially Rolex cars. Much like F1 (which must maintain at least 80mph around the track), Rolex cars also must maintain a certain speed. If this is a true pace car, I'm sure it would be worth north of $40k.

EDIT: I wonder if it wasn't used in the "Solstice series" that was televised for up and coming racers.