Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a new Solstice GXP driver. It is black with silver rims. I don't have a picture but it looks pretty much the same as the other black Solstices I've seen on these forums. I've been driving it for 6 days and I'm pretty decent with it now. It was my first manual car so I may not have been doing things the best way just to avoid stalling.

So if you could answer some of my questions, I'd appreciate it. It's much better to get feedback from others who drive the same car.

1. When I start off first gear, how should I move the clutch and accelerator? When I am on level ground I put the gas pedal down a bit first and then ease off the clutch until it starts to move. Should I perhaps just ease off the clutch enough to move and then press the gas?

2. Same question as 1, but on a hill. Is it different? I don't want to roll back too much as people in the city like to stick close behind.

3. How long should I stay in first gear before switching to second? How can I move fast enough from a stop and make a left turn quickly at an intersection before traffic has me waiting another 5 minutes? I've been able to get going but usually I stay in first gear and the revs are getting high as I approach 15 mph.

I'll be looking to improve by experience and the answers I read here. :thumbs:

·
Premium Member
795 Posts
You're going to have to develop your own driving style. Some people like to run the gears up, but thanks to the huge torque in the GXP I generally shift by 2200 RPM

·
Super Moderator
16,400 Posts
Back when we were all new to the Sol and Sky the clutch action was the subject of a lot of discussion. Even people with a lot of experience were having problems with manipulating the clutch from a stop. More so with the turbo cars. If you review those threads you will see you are not alone.

Most people learn how to feather the clutch after a few days.