Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2008 Pontiac Solstice GXP
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
I’m new to this platform, and had a question regarding suspension and handling.
I’m wondering how I can make my car handle more like my old Miata.
I had a 2006 Mazda Miata and that car would turn and rotate like nothing I’ve ever driven before. It was like it was on tracks.
Quick mountain switch backs were the funnest thing in the world.
My Solstice feels heavier, squatter and much more slow to turn in.
I have BC Racing Coilovers coming in the mail so I’m hoping that will help.
Beyond that, the DDM brace bundle looks interesting.
Is there a good combination of parts that people have used to get the car to turn in tighter, stay flatter and rotate the way a Miata does?

·
Registered
1,646 Posts
The Miata is a great car.

What type of Solstice do you have? There's more than one suspension type on a Sol, from the factory.

You also want to explore lighter wheels, and talk to the guys at DDM about stiffening the chassis and planting the rear end.

·
Registered
5,434 Posts
I have no experience with it, but others swear by the DDM brace bundle.

·
Super Moderator
7,544 Posts
A Solstice will never feel as fast as a Miata. It has a heavier (and stiffer) chassis, and wider tires.

My experience with comparison driving the Miatas that some friends and coworkers own is that the Miatas feel lighter and faster, but the Sky actually is faster on the twisty roads that we have here. Conversely, in unmodified form and aligned for the street, the Miatas will generally outperform my Sky in a parking lot autocross.

The ProBeam (one third of the DDM brace bundle) eliminates an instability in the rear that is caused by flex in the lower inboard suspension hard points, and i consider it a requirement for any Kappa that is driven hard.

·
Registered
3,487 Posts
A Solstice will never feel as fast as a Miata. It has a heavier (and stiffer) chassis, and wider tires.