Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone. I'm new to the Solstice forum.
I'm a long time Vette guy that wants to buy a red 2008 or 09 Solstice conv. I'm looking for a excel cond/pristine, low mileage car.
I know the diff between a base Solstice and a GXP. Just wondering what you own and prefer? Have any of you owned both or driven both?
I appreciate your input. Please advise. Thank you!

·
Premium Member
198 Posts
Recommendation go GXP.
Search the forum, this has been discussed numerous times.
And only posting once is the best policy.

·
Super Moderator
7,146 Posts
FYI: I removed the duplicate thread.

I have one of each, I drive them both, and I enjoy them both. Well, sort of. As you can see from my signature I actually have the more exclusive and clearly superior Sky. :devilish:

Coming from the Corvette world you may be disappointed in the lower power of the NA version, so you should drive one before committing to it. Other than power, the cars are nearly identical, the real difference being the stiffer suspension in the GXP/RL. Most consider the stiffer suspension to be superior, but I am in a very small minority that find it better for public road driving. It is definitely more comfortable, but i also find that the stiffness makes it harder to control the car on less-than-perfect road surfaces and as a rule I actually drive my NA faster.

·
Registered
6,838 Posts
I recommend that you not rely on whatever a popular vote may turn up as to who likes what. That is irrelevant for you as you are the only one that can say what you, personally, like. Go drive them both before you buy. That's what I did and I expect that most owners probably did the same thing.

·
Registered
271 Posts
FYI: I removed the duplicate thread.

I have one of each, I drive them both, and I enjoy them both. Well, sort of. As you can see from my signature I actually have the more exclusive and clearly superior Sky. :devilish: