Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I just bought a bunch of car care items for detailing my Envious (Green) GXP this spring. Among these items is a CG Torq X polisher kit with a set of Quantum Pads with prepping and cleaning solutions. Having never used a DA polisher before I am hoping to possibly replicate some of the outstanding exterior results that I have seen posted on this forum. To this end, I have some questions.

Question #1 - Are today's DA polishers safe for our cars? The video clips I have watched online seem to say they are fairly foolproof to use if you follow the instructional videos while using the appropriate pads and products for the job at hand. Is this true? I have never used a DA polisher before but I can be trainable.

Question #2 - Is this an appropriate workflow? - Do a 3 bucket wash (wheels first with CG Mister Pink and Bear Claw Wash Pad), dry the car (microfiber towels), clay the car (Car Brite Detailer's Clay Mitt and CG Luber), polish car with the appropriate swirl remover (Orange Quantum Pad and CG V36), finishing polish (White Quantum Pad and CG V38), glaze the car (CG Blacklight on Blue Quantum Pad), seal the car (CG Jet Seal on Red Quantum Pad), and give the car a final hand waxing with Eagle One Superior Nanowax. The top I will clean and seal with the CG convertible cleaner and protectant.

Question #3 - If I successfully execute the above steps how long should I expect the goodness to last? I realize weekly washes and waxing will probably be required to keep it maintained but how long before the above workflow will need to be repeated?

Question #4 - What can I use on the engine compartment for protection?

Question #5 - What's best for windows? I have used RainX products in the past.

Let me know how I can improve on this endeavor.

:|:|:|:|

·
Registered
7,161 Posts