Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am 22 and have never driven a stick before. Since my sol probably wont be here until late October or November I figure I have plenty of time to learn. A few of my friends have sticks and are willing to teach me. Having said that, how difficult is it to learn? Is it something you need to practice every day or can you get by just practicing 1 or 2 times a week? I am kind of worried that I have no experience with a manual and am getting a sol with a manual and do not want to ruin the tranny. Any input or advide would be very helpful.

Thanks, Ray

·
Mod Emeritus
7,468 Posts
mysterio98 said:
I am 22 and have never driven a stick before. Since my sol probably wont be here until late October or November I figure I have plenty of time to learn. A few of my friends have sticks and are willing to teach me. Having said that, how difficult is it to learn? Is it something you need to practice every day or can you get by just practicing 1 or 2 times a week? I am kind of worried that I have no experience with a manual and am getting a sol with a manual and do not want to ruin the tranny. Any input or advide would be very helpful.

Thanks, Ray
It seems to me that most people learn quickly. In under an hour you should be able to get the car around. A couple hours you should be able to get it around well enough that you could get yourself somewhere without problems. From that point, the more you drive the better/smoother you will get at it. Everyone makes it out to be more difficult than it is.

Like riding bycicle, once you learn, you never forget. Unlike a bycicle, you won't won't be bleading from the elbows and knees while you learn. :lol:

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
Driving a Manual Shift Machine.......

Grab Shifter, Push Clutch Pedel, Move Shifter Forward, Punch Gas Pedel....
Watch for Pedestrians.........You are on your way!