Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,785 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm trying to analyze my HPT logs to diagnose a weird-ass problem causing insanely rich AFR at idle once the car has been running for 10-15 minutes. I'm seeing AFR values in the 10-12 range, and vacuum drops from ~25mmHg to ~10. When this happens, the car sounds like a Diesel that's about to explode.

Looking over the logs, I see my MAF staying at or around 0.5lb/min, with occasional spikes when under hard acceleration. On the HPT graph, this is near the floor. The graph follows the MAP *somewhat*, but somewhat inconsistently.

Suggestions? Is there a convenient way to test the MAF or do I need to just eat the cost and get a new one in the hope that it solves the problem? (I hate doing that. As an engineer, I frown heavily upon the shotgun approach to problem solving.)

One test idea: Turn the car on (not started), fire up HPT, remove the MAF from the intake pipe and hit it with my air compressor. I foresee this being entertaining, but perhaps less useful than one might desire. Also, without an idea of what the readings are supposed to be, the resulting data would be difficult to interpret.

·
Premium Member
1,785 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
What are your stft readings before/after this happens?
This is sitting at a stop light for a few seconds:

JUST before,

LTFT = 15.6
STFT= -14.8%

Just after the problem starts (pretty sharp delta on the graph)

LTFT = 14.8
STFT = -1.6%

Spark hits the floor and spikes a bit while it's doing this, as well.

The fuel trims do a sort of saw tooth pattern until I started moving again.

Funny thing:both O2 sensors (B1S1) sort of flattened out while it was happening... Fun fun fun.