Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm a newbie here
the show on ESPN said the solstice starts at $18k, now I'm seeing $20k+ for the convertible
anyone has a clue what the price would be:(

·
Registered
41 Posts
They keep saying that the target base price will be "under" 20k. Now $19,995 is under 20k so I expect that to be the base model pice. :cheers

·
Registered
275 Posts
The real question though is "What will you get for the base price ?" Traditionally GM lines have a "loss leader" that no-one wants and a host of options. In recent years these have become "option packages" rather than individual options but really same-same.

The question is which will be necessary and which won't. It would not surprise me if the $19995 version (of which three will be built & ultimately become collectable) has wind up windows, no a/c, a radio block off plate, manual everything and 15" wheels with hubcaps (then again that might be a perfect place to start for an autocross car). For example when Pontiac introduced the "ecomony" Fiero in 1984 it also had super long gears and 185x80x13 tires, a transaxle now greatly in demand for V-8 swaps).

This is more likely for two reasons:
1) the market the Solstice is aimed at is specialized, competitive, and has relatively low-end demographics. Much more like the Fiero than the Reatta or Allante.
2) Is how Pontiac is used to doing things.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Good point Padgett. I am sure the base Solstice for under $20k will be a bit of a stripper. Of course, that would be best for the track most likely. Add in typical buyer option packages, and I am sure MSRP will be around $22.5-23k, probably topping out fully loaded at around high $24k, or low $25k (for the base model). Unless of course they add options like navigation, which gets expensive (Mazda offers this on their Mazda 3 as a $1700 option to a $17k base car).

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5