Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
515 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Classic66vair asked for my Monsoon review. I PM'd him but thought I would share...

Me said:
Will it rattle the paint off of the car next to you at a stoplight? No. Does it provide plenty of volume to clearly here and enjoy every bit of a song while at 70mph with the top down? Easily!

I'm a bit of an audiophile, if that helps. I'm a musician with very picky ears when it comes to sound (I spent 2 hours finding the correct angle for my floor speakers in my home theater ) and I'm very happy with the tone and crispness of the sound throughout the volume range. The bass from the sub-woofer fills out the sound nicely. Like I said before, 70mph is no problem. I can easily have the volume loud enough to mask almost all the engine and wind noise at that speed without a hint of distortion.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Chris said:
Classic66vair asked for my Monsoon review. I PM'd him but thought I would share...

That's good to hear. What did you think about the EQ setting?

·
Registered
515 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ACBUNNY said:
I always do custom settings via the bass/mid/treb settings. One thing to note is that the setting are per source so you'll need to set it up for radio/CD/Aux individually. (Not sure if AM and FM are shared or not. Hopefully they are independent cause I like my AM flat. I'll check this evening.)

·
Registered
63 Posts
I find that with the monsoon you have to be at about 3/4+ volume at highway speed to accurately hear the tunes. Mind you I think I am slightly deaf and all my other vehicles have custom stereo systems. So in summary don't expect to blow the doors off your car, but you will get a clean sound.

I am looking at amplifiers for the stock system which I think will boost the whole sound incredibly without ripping out all the components.

Will post results later

Steve

·
Registered
337 Posts
ACBUNNY said: