Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm hoping this write up will come in handy for anyone doing a clutch job in their Solstice/Sky in the future. I've never done a clutch before on any car, so take all this with a grain of salt, but I got the car working again and the new clutch drives great! It sure was a lengthy and tedious experience though. Took me about a month and a half to get the whole thing done because I wasn't able to work on it all day, every day, and it couldn't even be at my house since my garage is too small. All said, now that I know the whole process, I could probably do it within a weekend. All of this was done on 6 ton jack stands, because I can't afford a lift.

Backstory
I have a Solstice with almost 120k on the original clutch, so the disc was on its last legs anyway. One of my friends claimed they knew how to drive standard, but then clearly didn't as I watched them dump the clutch and not know what gear to go in to. Oh well. One of my clutch springs disintegrated and a fragment of it got wedged in between the clutch disc and the pressure plate or flywheel, causing it to not fully disengage. I wasn't able to go in to gear with the engine running and even when I started the car in first, every single shift had to be perfectly rev-matched. So I ordered a new clutch (http://shop.exedyusa.com/exedy-racing-clutch/exedy-racing-stage-1-organic-clutch-kit/04802/i-177380.aspx), and got in touch with the manufacturer to make sure I didn't need to shim or anything since it's non-OEM. Turns out it's still an original fit, so no slave cylinder shimming was necessary. We got a new slave cylinder and integrated throw out bearing installed too for good measure.

Shifter
Steelmesh's wonderful writeup helped me get most of the way through the repair, but there was a few things missing that some really great people offered their advice on free of charge.