Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here.

Bought an '08 Solstice this afternoon. Seemed like a good price for a lady driven cream puff with just 26,000 miles on it.

My mechanic checked it out and said everything seemed okay but on the way home from the dealer tonight I was playing with the information button on the steering wheel and noticed the engine temp was up to 212 degrees. Since it read out at 194 when I test drove it, that 18 degree jump bothered me. I pulled out of traffic and took another route home and the temp dropped to 208 and then to 202.

Should there be this much variance in temp and what should the 'normal' reading be? I went all through the owner's manual following the rule RTOMS but could find no information.

Logged ON

·
Premium Member
404 Posts
Hi. Mine is an 08 too. It is a great car. Post a picture. The coolant temperature issue has been discussed at length on the forum. Do a search with that search box in the upper left of the page and you'll see. I find it helpful to go into the forum first (General Tech, Platform), and then do the search.

I would say that 210 is not a concern. Mine runs steady at about 197 and sometimes idles as high as 210. I am pretty sure the fan kicks on around 220. Someone correct me if I am wrong.

Expect a possible common water-pump failure at 30k or so. Mine went right on time at about 33k. Do a search on the forum for further reading on that issue.Check your coolant level. Do some reading about the pressurized system before you just go out there and whip the cap off. It's a great car. You made a good choice. I bought mine with 24k. I just hit 62K today. The car has never let me down. Ever.

·
Premium Member
555 Posts