Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
905 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What would be the best things to get as far as performance parts for the Solstice?

I am a newbie when it comes to car stuff (my goal this summer is to learn more though), but have played Gran Turismo enough to know that Port & Polish and a Turbo would give it a hefty boost in power, but how much are we talking for these upgrades?

If these parts/installations etc are going to be out of this world in cost I'll just lease the car since I don't much anyway.

·
Registered
1 Posts
The most basic mods to make would be in getting the engine to breathe better. This would mean a free flow intake and header exhaust. This alone would add up to 10 more HP. The best thing is that this would cost about $500 or less and could be done in an afternoon. The other mod would be a change in the computer , either an add-on or a whole new computer. This could add 10-30hp in addition to the above and would cost $500+/-. I figure without going to a charged system{turbo or supercharger}that this engine could be brought to 200 hp. This is what I am planning on doing as I don't plan on racing it but will be using it daily. A turbo will make it go fast but you will pay for it big time. It will take more fuel and at a higher grade and it will wear the engine out faster.

·
Registered
905 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Risen Son Racin are those mods easy to do?

·
Premium Member
8,901 Posts
There will supposedly be a GM official catback exhaust and intake available at delivery according to things we've seen online.

·
Premium Member
5,691 Posts
brentil said:
There will supposedly be a GM official catback exhaust and intake available at delivery according to things we've seen online.