Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6,878 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a pretty sedate street driver, generally ignoring the idiocies of others (perhaps due to having perpetrated my share in the past), but once in awhile I do get annoyed. I was driving on a straight 4 lane road with stop lights today and some young twit (presumably a fairly well heeled one given pricing) was darting in and out of traffic, scaring the old ladies and generally hooning about in a 2019 M440i, which is a turbo straight 6 with four wheel drive. We came to a stop at a light side by side and I'm afraid I allowed my inner child to take over and when he booted it off the line when the light changed, I did the same. If I hadn't handily humbled his car, I wouldn't be posting this, but I did (my GXP is a larger turbo 375 bhp and his car has 388 bhp I later found - but it also weighs just over 4000 lbs. - poor choice for street light drag racing.

Sadly, I am almost certain that the kid won't have a clue what the heck that car that beat him was, but OTOH it is nice to be driving a sleeper even if you almost never use the full performance capabilities.

I am now good for another 6 months of complacency. Rather nice that the Michelin PSS tires never let out a squeal - the car just went!

Ironic thing is that there are lots of hefty cars (Panamera 4S for example) that weight more than two tons but produce both massive torque and impressive acceleration.

·
Registered
6,878 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't dislike BMWs, I own one after all, but the reputation of their drivers rivals that of Corvettes. What's the difference between a porcupine and a BMW (or Corvette)? On the BMW, all the pricks are on the inside. No offence meant to any Corvette owners here.

·
Premium Member
10,427 Posts
None taken, but is really about the maturity of the driver and not necessarily the marquis of the car.

Reactions: joybill44

·
Registered
6,878 Posts
Discussion Starter #5