Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everyone I'm new to Pontiac solstice forum I just bought my 2007 Pontiac GXP about 2 weeks ago and I have the GM turbo upgrade,hard pipe, and intercooler sitting in my garage bought these items two months prior to the car was wanting to know what boost and max horsepower the stock internals can make...looked around couldn't find a straight up answer thanks :)

·
Registered
7,162 Posts
wanting to know what boost and max horsepower the stock internals can make...looked around couldn't find a straight up answer thanks :)
'Cos there isn't a "straight up answer". There is no real hard limit, just a roll off of reliability. Having said that though, the general answer is thought to be that the stock internals can handle up to about 400hp at the crank. As with any figure though, this is NOT a guarantee and YMMV.

·
Registered
263 Posts
Welcome to the forum! There are several members here running at several different levels of power, but from what I've gathered, it seems the LNF will run pretty steady to around 400WHP before needing heavier internals. I'm not an LNF owner so I could e wrong, but I'm sure someone else will chime in!

·
Registered
263 Posts
Ha, TS beat me to it, I guess it 400 crank, not wheel.

·
Super Moderator
16,392 Posts
OK
TS is correct of course . .

For what its worth.

There was a running production change on the rods. Look for the thread on sintered rods for the 2.0. There is a concern that the later rods are less robust than the earlier rods.

There are a lot of cars running around with 300 - 325 WHP that are apparently as reliable as the stock 2.0 cars.

There are a number of cars in the 390 - 400 WHP range out there. Several of those have had issues with the syncros which is believed to be a result of the high horespower. Dave has stated that he believes that 400 WHP is the limit for a reliable 5 speed transmission.