Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I found a full front and rear kit of slotted/drilled rotors for the solstice on eBay and was wondering if powerstop is a good brand. They are pretty inexpensive and look nice. Would it be recommended to change the rotors and pads even if I've never done it before? Any tips? I know the rear pistons require a special tool. .

·
Registered
1,935 Posts
Nothing wrong with them, I've got them on a couple of cars. There are better pads out there than the Evolution pads that usually come with them. But then again, for the money, there's nothing wrong with them, either. As far as a special tool goes, if the pistons aren't jammed, one of the old pads and a C clamp is all you'll need to compress the pistons.

·
Premium Member
17,528 Posts
I am sure you will get lots of good advice.

My thinking goes like this.

The electronic systems on the car are relatively robust but can be screwed up.

The if it aint broke dont F with it rule always applies

I checked with people who know more than I do and was told that the stock rotors are more than adequate for anything close to leagal that you will do or encounter on the street and not too bad for some track work.

the factory pads are not very good and the overall brake performance can be greatly improved by replacing the factory pads with better after market pads.

Drilling looks good but my experience with drilled rotors has been consistently . . . bad.

Buying inexpensive brake parts from eBay is worse than buying them out of the back of a truck down at the rail yard.

:grouphug:

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for your input Rob. Have your rotors cracked? Been looking up info and that appears to be the main problem.. is slotted about as bad?

·
Registered
3,609 Posts