Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2,961 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have heard VERY little about car security systems. What's the deal with the Solstice? I'm actually new to buying cars, and I don't know how standard security is, etc.

·
4,592 Posts
since this is a security thread, maybe my question will help the cause.

the MSM has a "transponder key" which from other forums I hear is a pretty sound anti-theft technology. Any thoughts?

I'm primarily concerned about the joy ride thieves, the pro will get it if he wants, it's the kid with a screwdriver I'm concerned about. From what I hear, the transponder key solves that worry pretty well, and I was told a kill switch would be redundant.

·
Registered
284 Posts
Only type of security I've heard mention of is OnStar*.

·
Registered
60 Posts
It will probably have PassKey theft deterent, like most other GM vehicles. If I remember correctly, PassKey uses a specific electrical resistance in the key during ignition. If the key is not in the ignition, the computer kills the fuel pump. I'm sure the pros have learned how to bypass this, but your average teenage joyrider probably doesn't.

·
Premium Member
8,901 Posts
On the Sky Spec PDF under Safety the following is listed.
Engine-immobilizing theft-deterrent feature
I'm betting the Solstice will get this too as an option. I really can't see a car dealer offering a Roadster with out a theft deterent option anymore.

·
Registered
2,961 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I want a 3 second 120 dB audio alarm followed by a voice "Evacuate the vicinity of this vehicle. Low-yield nuclear self-destruct sequence for 30 seconds."...err...

or automatic sentry machine-guns.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Security for roadsters