Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This may be a bit off topic, but as i was going through various forums today they were talking about how great the high revving engines are. Admittedly I am not experienced with sports cars, racing, or even high performance engines, but i fail to see why a car that peaks (hp/torque) at 7,000 rpm would be better than a car that peaks at 2500 rpm. When driving my ford ranger with its 3.0 liter v6 that starts to move only when the engine is around 3500 or so rpm and my parents full sized van with a v8 that starts to move as soon as you touch the gas i find that i enjoy driving the van more (excluding handling, turning, etc. the thing is a bloated tank, slow and can't turn). That being said why would you want a car that you need to keep at 5-7000 rpm to get it to move instead of one that can move in the 2-3000 rpm range? I would think that by having such a high revving engine you would eventually run into long term durability problems when you revv so high.

·
Registered
284 Posts
High revving engines can be a lot of fun to drive when going all out. I prefer more torque down low like I get in my Corvette though.

·
Registered
535 Posts
You don't need a high revving motor, but in motors of similar size if tuned to use the high rpm you will make more power at 7k RPM than at 3k RPM. Smaller motors are designed to rev higher to achieve HP similar to a larger engine.

·
Registered
275 Posts
Keep in mind that the IHP (internal horsepower or power lost to just turning the engine) goes up by the square of the RPM and the intake air velocity is liable to approach sonic (see "choked flow" )

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter #5