Pontiac Solstice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
I doubt it, GM is a Corporation one thing rings true in all corporate America the Bottom Line. Their bottom line is they SOLD the CAR to the public. they had such an overwhelming response to it, the average is an 8% response to advertising. 22000 people signed up and a litttle over 5000 people tried to order a first 1000, out of that list te ones waitlisted 10% will continue to purchase the car. So in just 2 days of television hype they sold 1500 cars at Approximately $24000 each. :lurk:

·
Registered
121 Posts
Listen to what? And to what end? Aside from the frustration of seeing a web server error, ~6000 people were trying to get 1000 cars. Do the math.

I agree that someone somewhere didn't prepare well. Could be the IT department but since I work in IT it was more likely some PHB* telling them "what web traffic? It's only going to be 1000 hits--use that 100MHz Pentium in the store room."

It sounds to me, and I've read every post here, that the problems were mostly on the dealer end, "I'm guaranteed 5 EOP cars", "Your registration number is a lottery number", entering multiple customers at once leading to #3 guy through the door getting a car but not #1. Those dealers are the real problem. Even without crashing web servers and clueless dealers though, there still would be 5000 disappointed people.

* PHB = Pointy Haired Boss, see Dilbert

·
Registered
227 Posts
They probably sold more than the 5000.....since the system only allowed max EOP and waitlist of 5. From the stories I've heard here there were some dealers that had 10-15. Pontiac probably would have had orders for 10K. The dealer I was at had at least 10 spec'd out in VOM and tried to put the first 5 through the EOP.

There's no one to blame...the contest is over. GM and Pontiac need to focus on manufacturing now.

·
Registered
1,729 Posts
Putcha' ears on GM