Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 100 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am interested in hearing what the membership feels about supercharge vs. turbocharge. In 1979, I installed a turbo (non intercooled) in a 1977 Datsun (Nissan) 280Z. While there was great power, there were issues of turbo lag and underhood temperature. Turbo power is not "free" as there is increased exhaust back pressure. The car ran well for five years. The guy I sold it to blew the head gasket within 3 months. I drove a Mercedes C240 with a supercharger and it also performed very well. The supercharger seems to have the advantage of quicker power, lower under hood temperatures, and better control of boost through gearing and pulley size. Any thoughts?

·
Premium Member
568 Posts
I'd agree that you wouldn't want a non intercooled turbo. I've been driving a turbo car for about 14 yrs and haven't had any issues with it whatsoever. When the turbo is in the boost mode I'd agree that there is additional backpressure, but when the waste gate is closed I'm not sure it taxes the exhaust system all that much. You certainly don't get off the line as good as you would with a super charger, but it does pull away well once the rpm's get up a bit.

The supercharger does give boost right off the bat, but when you're not using it you still have a lot of spinning components that are dragging on the system at all times. I'd guess the gas mileage would be better with the turbo and the acceleration better with the supercharger...

·
Mod Emeritus
7,468 Posts
This has been a hotly debated debate on these forums, and I believe it will continue for some time. There are some advantages and disadvantages to both methods of forced induction.