Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,570 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I got sick of wondering about the top on the Solstice, so I made my own in photoshop. I'm not a professional photoshoper, so that explains why they look kind of fake. I think this top is doable, but it may require small changes in the deck lid from what we've seen of the deck. I also don't see how it could be a one handed operation from the front seat. I think you'll have to get out, pop the rear deck, put the top up, and then put the rear deck down. That's the price to pay for it to look cool. I think it's worth it.

A power top is a different story, but I don't think they'll do that on the 20k base. Maybe in an upgrade package. Anyhow, I have no idea what they're really going to do. This is just what I think they'll do. What do you think?

Attachments

·
Mod Emeritus
7,468 Posts
Great job on those!

I think the top may require you to get out of the car. At least the test mules erquired someone to be outside of the car to open up the rear compartment. Some of the reviews said it took some folding too. I am sure they are trying to engineer it so its as easy to use as possible, but if I had to get out to pop it down that wouldn't be the end of the world. It would make doing it at a stop light a bit of a hassle, but nothing a quick dash into a parking lot wouldn't handle! :wink

·
Registered
275 Posts
The issue is the rear "buttresses" which I suspect are realy tensioners to keep the top tight (so it doesn't drum at speed). Will probably be levers on each side of the front to release the top from the windshield molding. Then you will need to release the end of the buttresses (possibly just pull from a catch), then open the hatch and fold everything back in.