Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All. I'm a newbie, and love the site. Love the Solstice, and considering buying an '06, in MINT condition. My concern....it's an '06 with only 4000 miles on it. It's been garage when not being driven. The car looks stellar, but I am worried about the little mileage on it....like maybe it's not broken in. Any suggestions??
THANKS!

·
Registered
199 Posts
HI stole, just make sure all the recalls are up to date. How was it stored or just sat. I change my battery last year on my (06). Didn't want to take the chance of it going bad, I had to take the side fender off to change it. How often was the filter and oil changed.
Sounds like a good fine.
Good luck

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey D-Rod. Thanks. The car was stored in a heated garage during the winter, and in an unheated garage in summer, when not driven. The seller told me that she had a 2006 recall addressed, and that she changed the oil, for the first time, last spring....at the 3700 mark. The car is beauuuuuuutifullllll....just want to be sure that the lack of mileage isn't a problem.

·
AKA SolWhat?
10,471 Posts
I don't think the lack of mileage is a problem, as long as it was driven every once in a while.

The problem may be the lack of oil changes. This car is six or seven years old, and GM recommends that the oil/filter be changed once per year, regardless of mileage.

With the low mileage, it's possible that the oil could have had a lot of contaminants in it, for a long time, especially if the engine never got warm enough, for long enough, to burn the contaminants out of the oil.

Chances are everything is OK with it. :thumbs:

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hey Thanks DaveOC. I love these cars, and am trying to justify spending the money, and just trying to be as thorough as I can.

·
Registered
1,639 Posts
Are you sure you wouldn't prefer a nice lightly used Honda Civic?

·