Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
453 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been trying to soak up as much knowledge as I can quickly. I investigated a couple of mods, but then when I read the advice here, it seems like performance mods, like exhausts and CAI, are worthless without a tune afterwards. The way I understood it was that the computer "learns" the mods and programs the performance gains (HP and MPG) back to factory levels. Am I reading those comments correctly?

·
Registered
5,436 Posts
balt - I'm far from an expert, but I believe the "learn down" mode is moreso for the GXP (turbo) than the N/A. (At least that's what I've gleaned from feedback I've received.)

·
Registered
4,218 Posts
Simple way around the learn down on the GXP.... Go to your local GM dealer and have the GMPP tune installed (about $750 is what I was quoted) or spend $300 on a trifecta (after you've done all your upgrades) and have them tune your car.....either way, you won't be sorry. Go with the GMPP only if your car is under warranty yet. On the GXP, don't waste your money on the CAI. Use that $300 for the tune or better intercooler pipes. Or a Windrestrictor!!! There are many different options for cars that are out of warranty for tunes....ranging from $300 all the way to $2000+ if you want it dyno'd.

As far as NA cars, I'm not sure.....

·
Registered
453 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
N/A cars do NOT have the learn down "feature"
So, ballpark, if I got a GMPP catback and CAI, what kind of performance boost could I expect, individually and collectively?
Ron

·
Premium Member
3,924 Posts
after a tune of any kind,
does this mean that you must use premium gas from then on ? :huh:

My car is stock and I use regular gas today...

·
Registered
5,436 Posts
It's also my understanding that the tunes will require premium sirwm.