Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone-

I'm a newbie here + have never owned a convertible, but am hoping to real soon!

The Edmunds site lists so many options - which ones do people think are essential or really desirable?

Like most people, I think!, I just want to get options that are a good value, but not trick out my car with everything!

I'm not a hard-core racer or anything, so I was thinking the power option, leather seats, and CD player.

Looking forward to reading everyone's thoughts!

- bb doc

·
Registered
337 Posts
All - But XM, and OnStar ( or whatever your wallet can stand).

·
Registered
515 Posts
SolTex said:
:agree:
I also opted out of the polished wheels, but that's more of a personal taste issue...I just like the standard look better. Limited slip is a must have for a performace RWD'er in my opinion, and that's a great price. The ABS upgrade MAY pay for itself over the lifetime of insuring the car. And with almost all the other options you would get at least some of that back if you ever decided to sell. Might as well get the nice stuff to enjoy while you own the car.

·
Mod Emeritus
7,468 Posts
Welcome to the forum bb doc!

Options are a personal choice. I am not sure too much is essential. However, some are desirable. From a performance standpoint, you may want the Limited Slip differential.

If you don't like it when its stuffy out, you may also want air conditioning. It can also help clear fogged windows when its raining out.

Other than that, I think everything is just about whether you want the convenience or appearance advantage. Leather is has its positives and negatives. There are upgradable radios, wheels, power windows and locks, etc. Thats all just personal preference.

That said, even a loaded Sol should ring in under $25K, which is still a bargain! :)

·
Registered
281 Posts