Pontiac Solstice Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
385 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there any difference between OEM GM liners and aftermarket liners? Are they made of different material and finish?

·
Premium Member
1,133 Posts
It's my understanding that the GM wheel liners are pretty scratched up upon arrival. I assume the aftermarket ones aren't as thick/strong but I'm only speculating.

·
Premium Member
3,796 Posts
I purchased a set from Rock Auto for spares some years back took one out of the box and sent them back . They looked cheap ,thin material ,black shiny finish I would not waste my time or money unless this is a last resort .

·
Registered
7,030 Posts
What Sting Ya says is correct, the aftermarket ones have a shiny finish, BUT they are more flexible than the OEM ones and may last longer without the cracking at the mount holes that the factory ones experience. I say 'may' as I have no actual experience of that, but they are significantly cheaper, so you'll have to make the decision for yourself.

Here's a pic to show what we mean:

·
Premium Member
385 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sounds like a crap shoot! I'll have to think about this. So the trade off would be OEM liners may be thicker with a better finish but because of their lack of proper packaging may come scratched up?

·
Registered
3,420 Posts
Yeah, if the OEM liners are still available...
I had the liners changed under warranty years ago because of cracking and went through four, sending each one back as each was badly scratched. Finally the body shop asked that it be shipped in a box but that made no difference in the final product as it came out of the box all scratched as well.
A plastic protectant helps a bit to hide the scratches and although the liners on the car aren't pristine I've learned to live with it. :rolleyes:

Maybe if you were to paint the aftermarket liners they would look better but you'd have to find a paint that would stick.

Reactions: Sting Ya

·